Nanchang Hangkong University , also known as Nanchang University of Aeronautics, established in October of 1952, enrolling students mainly from China but also from abroad, specializes in engineering, science, arts, and management courses plus courses in economics, law and education.With a building area of 750,000 square meters, it occupies 200 hectares with two campuses, of which the new campus of Lake Qian occupies 150 hectares. The university has a total of 1,175 professional teachers, including 186 professors, 215 associate professors and 4 academicians. The total number of registered students is 18,675, including 16,565 undergraduates.It has a lot of international students including bachelor’s and non-bachelor’s degree program students.

Altogether there are 42 specialties for bachelor's degree, i.e., 17 specialties of engineering , 6 specialties of management, 7 specialties of arts, 7 specialties of science, 1 specialty of law and 2 specialties of education,etc. The university consists of 20 departments (schools). These include the following: School of Material Science and Engineering,School of Environment and Chemical Engineering,School of Aeronautic and Mechanical Engineering,School of Electronic and Information Engineering,School of Foreign Language,School of Computer Science,College of Mathematics and Information Science, School of Automation,School of Economics and Management,School of Civil engineering, School of Physical Education,School of Humanities and Law, School of Arts and Art Design, School of Software Engineering, School of International Education, School of Navy, School of Vocational and Technical Education, School of Scientific Technology and School of FurtherEducation.

The university has established and been conducting communication and cooperation with many universities of America, Japan, Canada, Ukraine, Britain, Australia, France, Korea, the netherlands, etc. It also invites many foreign teachers and experts to teach,lecture and conduct research in the university throughout the year.