Southeast University is a research university located in Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, People's Republic of China.

SEU is one of the national key universities administered directly under the Ministry of Education of China. It is also one of the first universities accredited by the State Council In 1995, the university passed the assessment by the Ministry of Education for "Project 211" and was listed as one of the universities that will be financed by the state as part of the project. In 1996, it was assessed as an outstanding university for its excellent undergraduate education. Nearly 2000, SEU had been a member of "Project 985".

The modern Southeast University's origins can be traced back to 1902. In that year Sanjiang Normal College was founded and it evolved as: Nanjing Higher Normal School, National Southeast University, National Central University and Nanjing University. In May 1988, Nanjing Institute of Technology was named Southeast University. At present, Southeast University has six campuses, covering a total area of 4,050,583 sq mtrs, with a built-up area of 1,460,000 m².

Southeast University is one of only 32 universities directly administered by the Chinese Department of Education, which are supposed to be top class universities in China. The university has 16,000 undergraduate students and 10,000 graduate students in over 30 schools and departments. There are about 5,600 faculty members in Southeast University.